Forum / Submitting For Publication

• Image.thumb
    Ivan Reyes
    Jul 11, 07:37pm

So, I've read through all the rules regarding copyright and this website, but, unfortunately, am still at a bit of a loss for understanding. I went to submit a work to a magazine for their consideration, and it struck me that I had the story, 'Carolina Gruber', posted on here already, and with some kind comments made to it (much appreciation!!). Making a quick decision, I deleted the story from this site, and informed the magazine that the story was "published" here. I am only a novice writer, and more-novice at submitting work for publication.

To get to the heart of my query, Although I'm sure its perfectly legal, is it a bad idea to publish stories on this site? Does it rub publishers the wrong way? I apoligize if the answer to my question lies in some yet-pored section of this wonderful website.

PS. As a new member, its awful exciting to read all your stories. I'd like to participate more, read more, comment more, and I'm sure I will once I get the internet at HOME.

• S._tepper--nov--lighter.thumb
    Susan Tepper
    Jul 11, 08:01pm

Ivan, somewhere on the Forum, David Ackley ran a list of magazines that would accept work previously posted to f'naut. Dave ran that a few weeks ago, I think. If you scan this Forum, you will find the list.

• Image.thumb
    Ivan Reyes
    Jul 11, 08:10pm

Thank you, Susan! Found the list...

I'd like to edit my statement saying: is it a bad idea to publish stories on this site?... I meant to add, "before they have been submitted and considered for publication?"

• Nv_kid.thumb
    Ramon Collins
    Jul 11, 08:27pm

Fictionaught isn't a public site. Some e-zines don't consider stories posted on "password" sites (like Fn) or writers' workshops as published.

Check the e-zine's Submission Guidelines before submitting.

Susan Tepper
    Jul 11, 08:28pm

I understood that was what you meant, based on what else you wrote. Good Luck!

• Linda.thumb